Everything You Need to Know about the Virginia State Pharmacy Technician License

Everything You Need to Know About the Virginia State Pharmacy Technician License

In this article...

Are you passionate about becoming a pharmacy technician in Virginia, but are confused about the steps involved in getting a pharmacy technician license in your state? 

In this article, we will go through every step included in the process of procuring a pharmacy technician license in Virginia. You may also take our free practice tests to prepare for your license. You can also access our Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) exam preparation guides as well, to help you prepare for your exam. 

STEP 1: CHECK YOUR ELIGIBILITY

The initial step to getting your pharmacy technician licensure in the state of Virginia is to check if you are eligible to apply for the licensure. The eligibility requirements set by the state of Virginia are as follows: 

  • The candidate must have a high school diploma or GED.
  • The candidate must be 18 years or older.
  • The candidate must be proficient in the English language.
  • The candidate might undergo a criminal background check and have their fingerprints taken.
  • The candidate can not have had any history of drug-related offenses.
  • The technician must have completed their PTCB or ExCPT examination to get their license.
  • The candidate must apply to the State Board of Pharmacy of Virginia with your notarized application and your passport or photo ID.
  • The State Board of Pharmacy of Virginia requires continuing education (CE).

You will have to complete continuing education (CE) to maintain a pharmacy technician license in Virginia. The requirements for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) continuing education (CE) are as follows:

  • You must have completed at least 20 hours of continuing education (CE) in a period of 2 years.
  • You must have completed at least 1 hour of training in pharmacy law and regulations and 1 hour in patient safety.
  • The Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) requires that the continuing education (CE) you choose must be related to the professional work and practice of the pharmacy technician. 
  • You may have to pay $40 as a requisite fee every 2 years.

STEP 2: APPLY FOR THE STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY TECHNICIAN EXAM

The next step, once you meet the eligibility requirements set by the state, is to apply for the Virginia State Board of Pharmacy Exam. You may start by filling out the application form on their official website. 

To register, you can visit the official website of the Virginia State Board of Pharmacy. You can go to the applications and forms section and register online by signing up if you are a new user or by signing in if you have already registered. 

You may also register as a limited-use pharmacy technician by filling out the application form available on the official website. You may also have to get an affidavit for a limited-use pharmacy technician. You can find the affidavit on the official website. 

STEP 3: PAY YOUR FEES

After you have completed the registration and application process, the next step is to pay your fees. The table below can help you understand the various fees involved in the payment process given by the Virginia law for the Virginia State Board of Pharmacy. 

FEES:

FEE TYPE (Non- Refundable)FEESLATE FEESREINSTATEMENT FEES
Pharmacy Technician Registration$35$15$45
Pharmacy Technician Registration after revocation or suspension$165
Approval of a Pharmacy Technician Program$200
Approval of a Continuing Education Program$130
Pharmacy Technician Training Program$100 every 2 years$20Renewal fees for all the years they were operating + $75
Verification of Licensure or Registration$35
Duplicate License or Registration$15
Fee breakdown

HOW TO APPLY FOR THE EXAM:

After paying the fees, the next step is to take the exam. The Virginia State Board of Pharmacy approves one or more exams to test the competency of an entry-level pharmacy technician. The State Board of Pharmacy may contract with an examination service to administer and developthe competency examination. The board also determines the minimum passing score on the competency examination.

To begin with, you will have to log in to the official website of the National Healthcareer Association (NHA)

Here are the steps you can follow to apply for the examination.

STEPS TO FOLLOW FOR INDIVIDUALS TO ENROLL IN A PROGRAM:

  • Create an NHA account.
  • Apply for the examination.
  • Choose the exam you want to take.
  • Go through the terms and conditions, and agree, if applicable.
  • Answer the prerequisite questions and choose “register for another examination,” then checkout.
  • Verify your basic/billing information on the checkout page.
  • Choose a payment method and click “purchase items.”

A confirmation email will be sent to your email address associated with the registered account.

STEPS TO FOLLOW FOR INDIVIDUALS NOT IN SCHOOL:

  • Create an NHA account.
  • Apply for the examination.
  • Choose the exam you want to take and make sure to register individually.
  • Go through the attestation and agree, if applicable.
  • Answer the prerequisite questions and choose “register for another examination,” then checkout.
  • Verify your basic/billing information on the checkout page.
  • Choose a payment method and click “purchase items,” then return to the account’s dashboard.
  • Select apply on the left of the page and schedule the exam with PSI.

WHAT’S NEXT:

Once you have passed the exam, you will now be eligible to apply for pharmacy technician licensing. Pharmacy technicians who have their certification and license usually have a good position in the field of pharmacy.

In this field, you have the opportunity to switch between roles, such as Pharmacy Affairs Manager or Head Technician. Pharmacy technicians can earn any number of specialization certifications to qualify for high-paying positions. They also have the opportunity to transition to different paths in management, compounding, or pharmaceutical sales.

You may check out our article if you are curious about how a day in the life of a pharmacy technician would be. You may also check out the article to learn more about career opportunities as a pharmacy technician.

Frequently Asked Questions about the State Pharmacy Technician License Exams:

How do I get a Pharmacy Technician license in Virginia?

To get a pharmacy technician license in Virginia, you should do the following:

  • Prepare for the exam.
  • Apply for the exam on the official website of the Virginia State Board of Pharmacy.
  • Take the exam.
  • Procure your pharmacy technician license once you pass the exam.
  • Complete continuing education (CE) and renew your pharmacy technician license every 2 years.

How much do Pharmacy Technicians make in Virginia?

Pharmacy Technicians in Virginia make approximately around $16 per hour.

How many CE hours are required for Pharmacy Technicians in Virginia?

The Continuing Education (CE) hours required for a Pharmacy Technician in Virginia is 20 hours in a period of 2 years.

How often do you have to renew your Virginia Pharmacy Technician license?

A pharmacy technician’s license expires on December 31, and the license has to be renewed annually with a fee of $25 through online submission.

Do Pharmacy Technicians need a license in Virginia?

Yes, a pharmacy technician needs to have a valid and unexpired license from the State Board of Pharmacy in Virginia to practice as a pharmacy technician in Virginia.

Is the PTCB an approved exam in the state of Virginia?

Both PTCB (PTCE) and ICPT (ExCPT) are approved in the state of Virginia for the pharmacy technician license.