Arizona License Renewal and Continuation of Education

Arizona license renewal and continuation of education

In this article...

Are you wondering how to renew your Pharmacy Technician License in the State of Arizona? Are you planning on Continuing your Education as a Pharmacy Technician in the State of Arizona? In this article, you will learn reliable information about Continuing your Education as a Pharmacy Technician and the Renewal process of your Pharmacy Technician License.

Steps Involved in Pharmacy Technician License Renewals in the State of Arizona

Steps involve in PTCB license renewal

The first step in renewing our Pharmacy Technician License in the State of Arizona is to check if you qualify and meet the eligibility requirements set by the State of Arizona. The Pharmacy Technician License is renewed every 2 years.

STEP 1: VERIFY YOUR ELIGIBILITY

The first step in renewing your Pharmacy Technician License is to check if you are eligible for the renewal or not. To renew your license, your license should be active. 

STEP 2: ELIGIBILITY FOR RENEWAL

The eligibility criteria for Pharmacy Technician License Renewal in the State of Arizona are as follows:

  • A total of 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) are required for renewal of license.
  • 3 hours of the 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) should involve continuing education activities on substance use disorder-related, opioid-related, or addiction-related.
  • 2 hours in remote dispensing site pharmacy practices. These are additional hours to the 20 total CE hours required for the renewal of the license. 

Note: This is not applicable to pharmacy technicians who work from home.

PRACTICING TECHNICIAN 

  • A completed Reinstatement Application.
  • Proof of your current, unrestricted Pharmacy Technician Licensure in another state or jurisdiction.
  • Proof of employment as a Pharmacy Technician during the period of the last 12 months.
  • All the past renewal and penalty fees.

NON-PRACTICING TECHNICIAN

  • A completed Reinstatement Application.
  • Proof that you have already taken the PTCB or ExCPT examination. You may have to take or retake the examination.
  • Proof of your completion of 20 contact hours or 2 CEUs of Continuing Education activity. 
  • All the past renewal and penalty fees.  

STEP 3: APPLY FOR RENEWAL

Once you meet the eligibility criteria, you are now ready to apply and start your Technician License renewal process. To apply for the renewal, you must visit the official site of the Arizona State Board of Pharmacy. On the official website, go to the renew section to log in to your online profile, if you have one. If you are a new user, you will have to register yourself first to create an online profile.  

PRACTICING TECHNICIAN 

If you have been practicing out of state as a Pharmacy Technician with a license issued by another state or jurisdiction and have a delinquent Arizona License, you may have to submit the following documents:

  •  A completed Reinstatement Application.
  • Proof of your current, unrestricted Pharmacy Technician Licensure in another state or jurisdiction.
  • Proof of employment as a Pharmacy Technician during the period of the last 12 months.
  • All the past renewal and penalty fees.

NON-PRACTICING TECHNICIAN

If you have not practiced as a Pharmacy Technician over the period of the last 12 months and have a delinquent Arizona License, you may have to submit the following documents:

  • A completed Reinstatement Application.
  • Proof that you have already taken the PTCB or ExCPT examination. You may have to take or retake the examination.
  • All the past renewal and penalty fees. 

STEP 4: PAY YOUR RENEWAL FEES

Pharmacy Technician License renewal fees are the following:                      

  • $100 for Pharmacy Technician.
  • $25 for a Duplicate Renewal License.

ODD RENEWAL CYCLE (will validate through 31st October 2021)          

If your license is in the odd renewal cycle and you are reinstating in the month of September or October, you may need to pay an additional fee of $200.

Expiry DatesExpiry Fees 
10/31/2015$324.00
10/31/2014$378.00
10/31/2013 $432.00
10/31/2012$486.00
10/31/2011 $540.00
10/31/2010 $594.00
10/31/2009$648.00
10/31/2008685.50
10/31/2007  $723.00
10/31/2006 $760.50
10/31/2005 $798.00
ODD RENEWAL CYCLE

EVEN RENEWAL CYCLE (will validate through 31st October 2022)

If your license is in the even renewal cycle, the fee is the following:

Expiry DatesExpiry Fees 
10/31/2015$378.00
10/31/2014$432.00
10/31/2013 $486.00          
10/31/2012$540.00
10/31/2011 $594.00
10/31/2010 $648.00
10/31/2009$702.00
10/31/2008$723.00
10/31/2007  $760.50
10/31/2006 $798.00
10/31/2005 $835.50
EVEN RENEWAL CYCLE

You may pay all the fees by check or money order. 

You will have to pay a reinstatement penalty fee (shall not exceed $350) if you fail to renew your license.

STEP 5: SCHEDULE YOUR RENEWAL PROCESS

If your Technician License is active, you may apply for renewal 60 days prior to your expiration date. Your renewal window will be open 60 days prior to your license’s expiration date.

If you do not recertify your Technician License before the expiration date, or have an expired license, you will be considered uncertified.  To resume your License to active status, you will have to apply for reinstatement within 1 year from the expiration date.

If you fail to renew for 5 or more consecutive years, you may have to provide satisfactory proof of fitness to the board to be licensed as a Pharmacy Technician.

STEP 5: RECEIVE YOUR RENEWED LICENSE 

Once you submit all the required documents and clear the payment to the State Board of Arizona, you will get a notification message within the next 10-15 minutes. The Board will then process and verify all the documents submitted for the next 60 days. If there is any discrepancy, the board will contact you to provide further supporting documents.

Steps Involved in Continuing Your Education in Pharmacy Technician in the State of Arizona

Steps Involved in PTCB CE of Arizona

Continuing Education is nothing but keeping yourself updated on activities and practices in the field of Pharmacy. Continuing Education has both options of online and offline classes. Being a Pharmacy Technician, you will be expected to constantly update your skills and knowledge. The best way to keep yourself updated with the knowledge and skills is to Continue your education in the field of Pharmacy Technician.

STEP 1: VERIFY YOUR ELIGIBILITY

The initial step is to verify if you meet the eligibility criteria to opt for Continuing your Education as a Pharmacy Technician. 

  • You must have completed 20 hours of Continuing Education during the recertification period of 2 years along with 1 hour in Pharmacy Law and 1 hour in Patient Safety. 

STEP 2: RECORD YOUR CE HOURS

You can track your Continuing Education (CE) hours with a CPE Monitor. It is a service offered by the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP). To keep track of your CE hours, you will need to have an NABP e-Profile ID. You may create your e-Profile ID by logging into the NABP official website

If you are earning CE hours from a non-accredited CE provider, you will have to manually enter the CE hours and upload relevant documents of CE completion in your PTCB application.

STEP 3: APPLY FOR CONTINUING EDUCATION

Once you meet the eligibility criteria, the next step is to apply for Continuing Education. To apply for Continued Education in the field of Pharmacy Technician, 

  • You must earn hours in the field of Pharmacy Technician or opt for a course offered by ACPE-accredited providers with target audience designation ‘T‘ (Technician-specific).
  • For renewal applications, a maximum of 5 hours of a Continuing Education course offered by ACPE-accredited providers with target audience designation ‘P’ (Pharmacist-specific) is also accepted. 

STEP 4: PAY YOUR CONTINUING EDUCATION FEES

You can quickly choose any free course from the Continuing Education (CE ) Directory and complete the course easily. The programs listed in the CE Directory are all accredited by ACPE and are free of cost.

STEP 5: RENEW YOUR LICENSE WITH CONTINUING EDUCATION 

After you choose the course you want to opt for the following are required:

  • You will have to earn 20 hours of Continuing Education during the recertification period of 2 years, along with 1 hour in Pharmacy Law and 1 hour in Patient Safety.  
  • You will have to verify if your NABP e-Profile ID appears in your PTCB Account.
  • You will have to check that your CE hours meet the requirements and that the hours are correctly recorded in the CPE Monitor.
  • You will have to apply for the renewal by logging into your PTCB Account.
  • You will have to attest that you have completed your PTCB’s renewal requirements and your CE hours in the CPE Monitor.
  • You will have to submit your renewal application along with the renewal fee. Once you have made your payment, your application will be approved and will be subject to review.

Wrapping up 

Choosing the field of pharmacy Technician is a noble profession and you are serving society. But to keep up with the latest information and upgrade your career with more opportunities, you must renew your license, enhance your knowledge, and ace your responsibilities.